Stragglers Dashing at Dorking

Posted by Helen Davies on 4 June 2017

Dorking 10 Mile 2017

The Stragglers Road Series continued in great style at the Dorking 10 mile race Sunday 4th June. This race was also a Surrey Road League event as well as the County 10 mile championships. The event also doubled as the Stragglers 10 mile Championships so there was plenty to play for on the start line, in the most attractive setting of Brockham village.

The men were led home by club newcomer Matt Coakes with a stunning 59:45, not bad for someone making their 10-mile race debut on a rather hilly course!  Matt also took the club M40 prize.  Second and third place for Stragglers men (and the club M50 award) were fought out by Dean Morley and Malcolm Davies, with Dean coming out on top in 64:39 with Malcolm 20 seconds behind.  Donovan Duffy and Gareth Pritchard fought out a similarly close battle for second and third Straggler M40 with Donovan prevailing in that contest.  Ollie Bowers edged out Chris Coates for the Straggler senior man award.

Another highlight for the men though was Phil Davies picking up an overall race M60 second place award, and in addition scooping a Surrey County M60 Silver award.

As usual though, the ladies were not to be outdone.  Liz Killip was the first Straggler lady over the line in 68:42 and 8th lady in the race overall and picking up the race F50 silver award. Liz was followed over the line by Dee Smale in 72:43.  Juliet Cleghorn was in third place for the Stragglers picking up the club F45 award, in 76:22.  Kate Suttle took the senior lady club award, and Nicole Hambling the F35.

To cap it all off, the ladies also picked up the ladies’ race team silver award with Liz, Dee, Juliet and Helen Davies making up that quartet.

To round off the day, Leigh Collins opted for the Dorking ‘Not quite 10’ race and this proved to be equally successful, with Leigh picking up the second lady award in this race.

Here is a link to some photos from the day.

Well done to our 10-mile championship award winners:

Overall male winner: Matt Coakes

Senior men: Oli Bowers

M40: Matt Coakes

M50: Dean Morley

M60: Phil Davies


Overall female winner: Liz Killip

Senior Lady: Kate Suttle

F35: Nicole Hambling

F45: Juliet Cleghorn

F55 Liz Killip

Join our club

Contact us today if you are interested in finding out more about our club either as a runner, coach or volunteer.

Get in touch

Our latest news

Advertisers Area

© 2016 - 2018 The Stragglers Running Club. All rights reserved.

To contact your Data Controller, click here

If you wish to withdraw consent from us holding your personal data please email requesting your data be removed from the site. However, this will only be possible if you cease your membership.

In addition, if you wish to exercise your right to be forgotten please click here

Powered by ClubBuzz.

Details of Data Controller are

Name: Data Controller